Board of Directors

The Board of Directors are responsible for managing the properties and activities of the CAG. The Board welcomes members' comments and suggestions which may be forwarded via the National Office by email.

View the CAG Board Of Directors' Financial Disclosures



Nicola L. Jones


Professor of Paediatrics and Physiology
University of Toronto, Toronto, ON

President Elect

Kevin Waschke


Associate Professor
McGill University, Montréal, QC

Past President

David Armstrong


Professor of Medicine
McMaster University, Hamilton, ON

rob Enns

VP Secretary

Robert Enns


Clinical Professor of Medicine, Division of Gastroenterology
University of British Columbia, Vancouver, B.C.

VP Treasurer

Elena Verdú


Associate Professor, Division of Gastroenterology, Department of Medicine
McMaster University, Hamilton, ON


Past Presidents

2014-2016Derek McKayUniversity of Calgary
2012-2014Daniel SadowskiUniversity of Alberta
2010-2012David MorganMcMaster University
2008-2010Ronald BridgesUniversity of Calgary
2006-2008William PatersonQueen’s University
2004-2006Desmond J LeddinDalhousie University
2002-2004Philip M ShermanUniversity of Toronto
2000-2002John L WallaceUniversity of Calgary
1998-2000Richard FedorakUniversity of Alberta
1997-1998Gary A LevyUniversity of Toronto
1996-1997J Joseph ConnonUniversity of Toronto
1994-1996D Grant GallUniversity of Calgary
1993-1994Stephen M CollinsMcMaster University
1992-1993Richard H HuntMcMaster University
1991-1992Suzanne E LemireUniversité Laval
1990-1991Eldon A ShafferUniversity of Calgary
1989-1990Iain G CleatorUniversity of British Columbia
1988-1989Aubrey GrollQueen’s University
1987-1988Alan BR ThomsonUniversity of Alberta
1986-1987C Noel WilliamsDalhousie University
1985-1986Claude C RoyUniversité de Montréal
1984-1985William C WatsonUniversity of Western Ontario
1983-1984Laurington R DaCostaQueen’s University
1982-1983Cameron HarrisonUniversity of British Columbia
1981-1982Gordon G ForstnerUniversity of Toronto
1980-1981Jacques KesslerMcGill University
1979-1980Florent ThibertUniversité de Montréal
1978-1979Wilfred M WeinsteinUniversity of Alberta
1977-1978Leslie S ValbergUniversity Western Ontario
1976-1977Bernard J PereyUniversité de Sherbrooke
1975-1976Richard R GilliesUniversity of Ottawa
1974-1975Jacques O GagnonUniversité de Montréal
1973-1974Joseph J SidorovDalhousie University
1972-1973James F LindUniversity of Manitoba
1971-1972John M FinlayUniversity of Toronto
1970-1971J Alan L GilbertUniversity of Alberta
1969-1970Douglas G KinnearMcGill University
1968-1969Abraham BogochUniversity of British Columbia
1967-1968Ivan T BeckQueen’s University
1966-1967KJR WightmanUniversity of Toronto
1965-1966Paul LetendreUniversité de Montréal
1964-1965Eric M NansonUniversity of Saskatchewan
1963-1964Walter C MackenzieUniversity of Alberta
1962-1963Robert C DicksonDalhousie University
1961-1962Richard D McKennaMcGill University


Operations Committee


Chair, Operations Committee

Cindy Roll

Canadian Association of Gastroenterology

louis liu

VP, Administrative Affairs

Louis Liu

Division Head of Gastroenterology, UHN and SHS Toronto Western Hospital, University of Toronto

VP, Clinical Affairs

Grigorios Leontiadis

McMaster University

VP, Education Affairs

Charles Menard

University of Sherbrooke

VP, Quality Affairs

Paul Moayyedi

McMaster University

VP, Research Affairs

Bruce Vallance

University of British Columbia


Board Committees

To view committee members, please click on the Committees below:


Administrative Affairs

  Louis Liu, Toronto, ON V.P.
Admissions Yvonne Tse, Toronto, ON Chair
Diversity & Equity Laura Targownik, Winnipeg, MB Chair
Ethics Flavio Habal, Toronto, ON Chair
Publications/Archives Jerry McGrath, St. John's, NL Chair

Clinical Affairs

  Grigorios Leontiadis, Hamilton, ON V.P.
Endoscopy Steven Heitman, Calgary, AB Chair
Pediatrics Matthew Carroll, Edmonton, AB Chair
Practice Affairs Frances Tse, Hamilton, ON Chair
Regional Representation Mark MacMillan, Fredericton, NB Chair
Christian Turbide, Calgary, AB Member
James McHattie, Regina, SK Member
Alexandra Ilnyckyj, Winnipeg, MB Member
Imran Rasul, Mississauga, ON Member
Steve Gruchy, Halifax, NS Member
Bharati Reddy, St. John's, NL Member
James Gray, Vancouver, BC Member
Josée Parent, Montreal, QC Member

Education Affairs

  Charles Menard, Sherbrooke, QC V.P.
GRIT Elyanne Ratcliffe, Hamilton, ON Chair
Michael Curley, Calgary, AB Junior Co-Chair
Robert Berger, Halifax, NS Evaluation Representative
Jeff McCurdy, Ottawa, ON Member
Jennifer Jin, Edmonton, AB Member
Maintenance of Certification (MOC) Brian Yan, London, ON Chair
Steven Gruchy, Halifax, NS Member
Catharine Walsh, Toronto, ON Member
Nav Saloojee, Ottawa, ON Member
Pushpa Sathya, St. John's, NL Member
Samir Grover, Toronto, ON Member
Christopher Sheasgreen, Toronto, ON Member
Maria Cino, Toronto, ON Member
Nauzer Forbes, Hamilton, ON Member
Program Directors Winnie Wong, Edmonton, AB Chair
Scholars' Herbert Brill, Hamilton, ON Co-Chair
Steven Gruchy, Halifax, NS Co-Chair
Trainee Representative Marcel Tomaszewski, Montreal, QC Member

Quality Affairs

  Paul Moayyedi, Hamilton, ON V.P.
Innovation Maida Sewitch, Montreal, QC Co-Chair
Geoff Nguyen, Toronto, ON Co-Chair
Natasha Bollegala, Toronto, On Primer Lead
Quality Practice Guidelines David Morgan, Hamilton, ON Chair
C-GRS Sub-Committee Nicky Marwaha, Burlington, ON Chair
Jennifer Telford, Vancouver, BC Member
Val Ginzburg, Richmond Hill, ON Member
Stephanie Carpentier, St. John's, NL Member
Dan Sadowski, Edmonton, ON Member
Dana Moffatt, Winnipeg, MB Member
Harminder Singh, Winnipeg, MB Member
Rabin Persad, Edmonton, AB Member
IBD GRS Sub-Committee Alain Bitton, Montreal, QC Chair
Adam Weizman, Toronto, ON Member
Geoffrey Nguyen, Toronto, ON Member
Vipul Jairath, London, ON Member
Reporting Peter Rossos, Toronto, ON Chair
Practice Audit Sub-Committee Harminder Singh, Winnipeg, MB Chair
Frances Tse, Hamilton, ON Member
Catharine Walsh, Toronto, ON Member
Talat Bessissow, Montreal, QC Member
Skills Enhancement Don MacIntosh, Halifax, NS Co-Chair
Alaa Rostom, Ottawa, ON Co-Chair

Research Affairs

  Bruce Vallance, Vancouver, BC V.P.
  Fernando Lopes, Calgary, AB Member
  Yaron Avitzur, Toronto, ON Member
  Michael Beyak, Kingston, ON Member
  Maria Ines Pinto Sanchez, Hamilton, ON Member
  Fernand-Pierre Gendron, Sherbrooke, QC Member
  Nathalie Perreault, Sherbrooke, QC Member
  Simon Hirota, Calgary, AB Member
  Jean-Eric Ghia, Manitoba, MB Member
  Yasmin Nasser, Calgary, AB Member
  Lisa Osborne, Vancouver, BC Member
  Michael Laffin, Edmonton, AB Member
  Vipul Jairath, London, ON Member
Research Topics David Reed, Kingston, ON Co-Chair
  Nathalie Perreault, Sherbrooke, QC Co-Chair
  Samantha Gruenheid, Montreal, QC Faculty


Robert Enns, Vancouver, BC Chair
Nicola Jones, Toronto, ON Member
Kevin Waschke, Montreal, QC Member
Mark MacMillan, Fredericton, NB Member
Laura Targownik, Winnipeg, MB Member
Nathalie Perreault, Sherbrooke, QC Member
Mark Borgaonkar, St. John's, NL Member