Clinician's Professional Enrichment Grant (CPEG)

The Canadian Association of Gastroenterology (CAG) and the Canadian Digestive Health Foundation (CDHF) are pleased to present an award specifically designed to assist clinically-based gastroenterologists, who are members of the CAG, take advantage of special educational and professional skills upgrading opportunities. The Clinician's Professional Enrichment Grant (CPEG) is offered every second year (2019, 2021, etc.) and should be applied for in the year prior (2018, 2020, etc.).


2019 Award Recipient

Dr. Carla Nash, Kelowna General Hospital

Kelowna, BC



Funding has been made available to allow the granting of awards to a maximum of $40,000 CDN.

The funding is intended to offset travel, living and office overhead expenses during the training period.

At this time, this award will not cover tuition costs. The equivalent of only 1 award will be given out on a biennial basis.

Eligibility Criteria

Applicants must be CAG members, in good standing, in practice for at least three years. Funding priority will be given in the following order:

  •  Community-based gastroenterologists (with no access to sabbatical funding)
  •  Clinical gastroenterologists with a part-time academic appointment (with no access to sabbatical funding)
  • Recently (within 3 years) certified gastroenterology trainees seeking additional training in preparation for clinical practice and with no access to funding by the host/sponsoring institution
  • Any gastroenterologist (with no access to sabbatical funding)


Application Process

Step One: Application Submission

Deadline is September 15 11:59 PM ET

Candidates are required to submit an online application.

Submission Requirements

This online form must be completed in one single session. This form cannot save your information to return to at a later time.

Required documentation to be uploaded:
1. Letter of Support (if applicable)
2. Curriculum Vitae
3. Supplementary Pages (optional)

Upon successful submission, you will be redirected to a confirmation webpage and will receive an email from us. If this does not occur, please contact the CAG National Office.


We strongly suggest using the latest versions of Firefox, Safari or Google Chrome.
PLEASE ENSURE ALL ATTACHMENT FILE NAMES DO NOT CONTAIN SPECIAL CHARACTERS. This includes but is not limited to ! * # ; ? / : " < > |.

  Submit Application

Step Two: Review

The CAG Practice Affairs Committee will review all applications and make its recommendations to the CAG Operations Committee who will have final approval authority.

Where more than one application is reviewed during a single evaluation period, only one application will usually be recommended for approval. In such situations, unsuccessful applicants will generally be invited to let their application stand for the next evaluation.

Each application will be considered on its own merits. The specific sum (to a maximum of $40,000.00 CAD) to be awarded to successful applicants will be determined on a case-by-case analysis.

Where applications considered to be of equal merit are evaluated, the committee will generally favour:

  • Applications from provinces that have not received past grants
  • Applications from clinicians with no academic appointment

Step Three: Approval

The CPEG will only be awarded once to a given candidate. The Practice Affairs Committee Chair (or designate) will notify all applicants of initial receipt of their application and subsequently will notify them of the status of their application following the review. Awardees will be officially announced at CDDW™.

Step Four: Submit Training Experience Summary

Successful applicants are expected to provide a brief written summary of their training experience to the CAG Practice Affairs Committee within the year, following the end of the award.

They are also encouraged to make themselves available to prospective future applicants who might wish to contact them with questions about their training experience.

Submit Training Experience Summary