The CAG Young Investigator Award recognizes outstanding contributions to gastroenterology through basic and/or clinical research by a young investigator. Candidates must:

  • be under 45 years of age and be within seven (7) years of their 1st academic appointment
  • hold an appointment at a Canadian university, hospital or research institute
  • be a Canadian citizen or a landed immigrant resident in Canada
  • be a member of the Canadian Association of Gastroenterology

2016 Award Recipient

Dr. François-Michel Boisvert, Université de Sherbrooke

Sherbrooke, Québec

Application Process

Step One: Nomination - Deadline is August 31 11:59 PM ET

PLEASE NOTE that you must submit the online nomination form INCLUDING uploading of all required documents (in .pdf format), in one single step; you are not able to save your application and return to it at a future date, rather it must be completed all at one time.

During your completion of the nomination form you will be asked to upload required documentation; you must have these .pdf documents prepared, finalized, and ready to upload when you begin the online form.
1. Letter of Support
2. CV of the Nominee

Upon successful submission you will be directed to a webpage that confirms the successful submission and within a short period of time you will receive an email from the CAG National Office confirming receipt of your submission.  If this does not occur, please contact the CAG National Office immediately.

PLEASE ENSURE ALL ATTACHMENT FILE NAMES DO NOT CONTAIN SPECIAL CHARACTERS. This includes but is not limited to  ! * # ; ? / : " < > |.

Nominators must be CAG members.

We strongly suggest completion of this application form using the latest versions of Firefox, Safari or Google Chrome. Some Internet Explorer users may not be able to view all content nor access all functionality.

Step Two: Review

CAG Research Affairs will review the nominations and make recommendations to the Board, who will make the final decision regarding recipients. Selection will be based on the research records of candidates.

Step Three: Approval

Only the award recipient will be notified via email. A presentation will be made at the Canadian Digestive Diseases Week™ where the recipient will deliver a lecture on their research.

    2015 Dr. Geoffrey Nguyen, University of Toronto, Toronto, Ontario
    2014 Dr. Aleixo Muise, University of Toronto, Toronto, Ontario
    2013 Dr. Gilaad Kaplan, University of Calgary, Calgary, Alberta
    2012 Dr. Elena Verdu, McMaster University Hamilton, Ontario
    2011 Dr. Dana Philpott, University of Toronto, Toronto, Ontario
    2010 Dr. Mark Silverberg, University of Toronto, Toronto, Ontario
    2009 Dr. John Brumell, The Hospital for Sick Kids, Toronto, Ontario
    2008 Dr. John Marshall, McMaster University, Hamilton, Ontario
    2007 Dr. Bruce Vallance, University of British Columbia
    2006 Dr. Nathalie Rivard, University of Sherbrooke, Sherbrooke, Quebec
    2005 Dr. Nicola Jones, University of Toronto, Toronto, Ontario
    2004 Dr. Nathalie Vergnolle, University of Calgary, Calgary, Alberta
    2003 Dr. Young-In Kim, University of Toronto, Toronto, Ontario
    2002 Dr. Wallace MacNaughton, University of Calgary, Calgary, Alberta
    2001 Dr. Derek McKay, McMaster University, Hamilton, Ontario
    2000 Dr. Paul Kubes, University of Calgary, Alberta
    1999 Dr. Keith Sharkey, University of Calgary, Alberta.
    1998 Dr Gervais Tougas, Hamilton Ontario
    1997 Dr Herbert Gaisano, Toronto, Ontario
    1996 Dr Stephen Vanner, Kingston, Ontario
    1995 Dr Jonathan B Meddings, Calgary, Alberta
    1994 Dr John L Wallace, Calgary, Alberta
    1993 Dr Philip Sherman, Toronto, Ontario