The CAG Visiting Research Professorship is offered annually (though not awarded each year) to a member of CAG who is a proven teacher and an outstanding researcher.

2016 Award Recipient

Dr. Karen Madsen, University of Alberta

Edmonton, Alberta

Application Process

Step One: Nomination - Deadline is August 31 11:59 PM ET


PLEASE NOTE that you must submit the online nomination form INCLUDING uploading of all required documents (in .pdf format), in one single step; you are not able to save your application and return to it at a future date, rather it must be completed all at one time.

During your completion of the nomination form you will be asked to upload required documentation; you must have these .pdf documents prepared, finalized, and ready to upload when you begin the online form.
1. Letter of Support
2. CV of the Nominee

Upon successful submission you will be directed to a webpage that confirms the successful submission and within a short period of time you will receive an email from the CAG National Office confirming receipt of your submission.  If this does not occur, please contact the CAG National Office immediately.

PLEASE ENSURE ALL ATTACHMENT FILE NAMES DO NOT CONTAIN SPECIAL CHARACTERS. This includes but is not limited to  ! * # ; ? / : " < > |.

Nominators must be CAG members.

We strongly suggest completion of this application form using the latest versions of Firefox, Safari or Google Chrome. Some Internet Explorer users may not be able to view all content nor access all functionality.

Step Two: Review

The CAG Research Affairs Committee will review the nominations and make recommendations to the executive, who will make the final decision regarding recipients. Selection will be based on the research records of candidates.

Step Three: Approval

Only the award recipient will be notified via email. The award is presented at CDDW™.

2015 Dr. Jan Huizinga, McMaster University
2014 Paul Moayyedi, McMaster University
2013 Paul Beck, University of Calgary
2012 Nicola Jones, University of Toronto
2011 Derek McKay, University of Calgary
2010 Charles Bernstein, Winnipeg, Manitoba
2009 Alan Barkun, Montreal, Quebec
2008 Philip Sherman, University of Toronto
2007 John Wallace, University of Calgary
2006 Gordon Greenberg, University of Toronto
2005 Brian Feagan, Western University
2004 Sander Veldhuyzen Van Zanten, Dalhousie University
2003 Keith Sharkey, University of Calgary
2002 Richard Fedorak, University of Alberta
2001 Jonathan Meddings, University of Calgary
2000 Ernest Seidman, University of Montreal
1999 Lloyd Sutherland, University of Calgary
1998 Mary Perdue, McMaster University
1997 Grant Gall, University of Calgary
1995 Gordon G Forstner, University of Toronto
1994 Gary Levy, University of Toronto
1993 Stephen M Collins, McMaster University
1992 C Noel Williams, Dalhousie University
1991 E Jenny Heathcote, University of Toronto
1990 James A Barrowman, Memorial University
1988 Laurence M Blendis, University of Toronto
1987 Richard H Hunt, McMaster University
1985 J Richard Hamilton, University of Toronto
1984 Eldon A Shaffer, University of Calgary
1983 Claude C Roy, McGill University
1982 Kursheed N Jeejeebhoy, University of Toronto