The CAG Young Educator Award recognizes outstanding contributions to gastroenterology through education by a young educator CAG member, who is invited to give a lecture at Canadian Digestive Diseases Week™. Candidates must:
  • be under 45 years of age and be within seven (7) years of their 1st academic appointment
  • hold an appointment at a Canadian university, hospital or research institute
  • be a Canadian citizen or a landed immigrant resident in Canada.

2016 Award Recipient

Dr. Geoff Williams, Dalhousie University

Halifax, Nova Scotia

Application Process

Step One: Nomination - Deadline is August 31 11:59 PM ET

PLEASE NOTE that you must submit the online nomination form INCLUDING uploading of all required documents (in .pdf format), in one single step; you are not able to save your application and return to it at a future date, rather it must be completed all at one time.

During your completion of the nomination form you will be asked to upload required documentation; you must have these .pdf documents prepared, finalized, and ready to upload when you begin the online form.
1. Letter of Support
2. CV of the Nominee

Upon successful submission you will be directed to a webpage that confirms the successful submission and within a short period of time you will receive an email from the CAG National Office confirming receipt of your submission.  If this does not occur, please contact the CAG National Office immediately.

PLEASE ENSURE ALL ATTACHMENT FILE NAMES DO NOT CONTAIN SPECIAL CHARACTERS. This includes but is not limited to  ! * # ; ? / : " < > |.

Nominators must be CAG members.

We strongly suggest completion of this application form using the latest versions of Firefox, Safari or Google Chrome. Some Internet Explorer users may not be able to view all content nor access all functionality.

Step Two: Review

The CAG Education Affairs Committee will review the nominations and make recommendations to the executive, who will make the final decision regarding recipients. Selection will be based on the education records of candidates.

Step Three: Approval

Only the award recipient will be notified via email. The award is presented at CDDW™.

    2015 Dr. Brian Bressler, University of British Columbia, Vancouver, British Columbia
    2014 Dr. Maitreyi Raman, University of Calgary, Calgary, Alberta
    2013 Dr. Kevin Waschke, McGill University, Montreal, Quebec
    2012 Dr. Clarence Wong, University of Alberta, Edmonton, Alberta
    2011 Dr. Dana Farina, Dalhousie University, Halifax, Nova Scotia
    2010 Dr. Kelly Burak, University of Calgary, Calgary, Alberta
    2009 Dr. Nicola Jones, University of Toronto, Toronto, Ontario
    2008 Dr. Sylvain Coderre, University of Calgary, Calgary, Alberta
    2007 Dr. Jamie Gregor, University of Western Ontario, London, Ontario
    2006 Dr. John Marshall, McMaster University, Hamilton, Ontario
    2005 Dr. Janice Barkey, University of Manitoba, Winnipeg, Manitoba