The CAG Education Excellence Award is awarded to a member of the CAG who has made an outstanding contribution to education on a national or international basis. The contribution may be in the areas of direct teaching, research in education or development of educational programs.

2016 Award Recipient

Dr. Alaa Rostom, University of Ottawa

Ottawa, Ontario

Application Process

Step One: Nomination - Deadline is August 31 11:59 PM ET

PLEASE NOTE that you must submit the online nomination form INCLUDING uploading of all required documents (in .pdf format), in one single step; you are not able to save your application and return to it at a future date, rather it must be completed all at one time.

During your completion of the nomination form you will be asked to upload required documentation; you must have these .pdf documents prepared, finalized, and ready to upload when you begin the online form.
1. Letter of Support
2. CV of the Nominee

Upon successful submission you will be directed to a webpage that confirms the successful submission and within a short period of time you will receive an email from the CAG National Office confirming receipt of your submission.  If this does not occur, please contact the CAG National Office immediately.

PLEASE ENSURE ALL ATTACHMENT FILE NAMES DO NOT CONTAIN SPECIAL CHARACTERS. This includes but is not limited to  ! * # ; ? / : " < > |.

Nominators must be CAG members.

We strongly suggest completion of this application form using the latest versions of Firefox, Safari or Google Chrome. Some Internet Explorer users may not be able to view all content nor access all functionality.

Step Two: Review

The CAG Education Affairs Committee will review the nominations and make recommendations to the executive, who will make the final decision regarding recipients. Selection will be based on the education records of candidates.

Step Three: Approval

Only the award recipient will be notified via email. The award is presented at CDDW™.

2015 Dr. Sandar Veldhuyzen van Zanten, University of Alberta, Edmonton, Alberta
2014 Dr. Nicola Jones, University of Toronto, Toronto, Ontario
2013 Dr. Sylvain Coderre, University of Calgary, Calgary, Alberta
2012 Dr. Connie Switzer, University of Alberta, Edmonton, Alberta
2011 Dr. Eldon Shaffer, University of Calgary, Calgary, Alberta
2010 Dr. Norman Marcon, University of Toronto, Toronto, Ontario
2009 Dr. David Armstrong, McMaster University, Hamilton, Ontario
2008 Dr. Desmond Leddin, Dalhousie University, Halifax, Nova Scotia
2007 Dr. Alan Thomson, Universityof Alberta, Edmonton, Alberta
2006 Dr. Lloyd Sutherland, University of Calgary, Calgary, Alberta
2005 Dr. Kursheed Jeejeebhoy, Professor, University of Toronto, Toronto, Ontario
2004 Dr. Ivan Beck, Emeritus Professor, Queen’s University, Kingston, Ontario
2003 Dr Claude Roy, Emeritus Professor, Université de Montréal, Montréal, Québec