This award is to honour individuals who have provided distinguished service to the Canadian Association of Gastroenterology (CAG) either by:

  • their recognized excellence in research in the area of gastroenterology and related subjects, and thus have provided service, by achieving international recognition for the CAG in their field


  • provided exemplary service to the CAG. The Distinguished Service Award should be granted, from time to time, to individuals who reached at least the age of 50 and normally have been members of the Association for over 10 years. The Board of Directors will review and consider candidate(s) for this award on an annual basis.

2016 Award Recipient

Hugh Chaun

2015    Bill Paterson
2014    Connie Switzer
2012    Des Leddin
2012    Pierre Pare
2011    Lloyd Sutherland
2010    Grant Gall (posthumously)
2008    Mary Perdue
2007    J. Joseph Connon
2006    Aubrey Groll
2004    Nicholas Diamant
2004    Norman Marcon
2003    Micheline Ste-Marie
2002    Richard H. Hunt
2002    Eldon Shaffer
2000    Alan BR. Thomson
2000    C. Noel Williams
1998    Edward Prokipchuk
1996    Claude C. Roy
1995    Richard R. Gillies
1995    Abraham Bogoch
1995    Florent Thibert
1995    JAL Gilbert
1994    Louis J. Cole
1994    Jack Finlay
1994    Leslie Valberg
1994    Edwin E. Daniel
1993    Doug Kinnear
1993    Gordon Forstner
1993    Joseph J. Sidorov
1992    Carl A Goresky
1992    James A. Barrowman (posthumously)
1992    Ivan T. Beck